Saturday, December 16, 2017

The Great Harlot (MA04)

'Beginning of Sorrows - 1st 3 Seals'

Rev 17:1,3Then one of the seven angels who had the seven bowls came and talked with me, saying to me, "Come, I will show you the judgment of the great harlot who sits on many waters.... So he carried me away in the Spirit into the wilderness. And I saw a woman sitting on a scarlet beast which was full of names of blasphemy, having seven heads and ten horns.

   The New Testament church
Mat 16:18" And I also say to you that you are Peter, and on this rock I will build My church, and the gates of Hades shall not prevail against it."
   Apostle Peter, the fisherman, was possibly the first Pope as he was appointed by our Lord Jesus to build His church. That was the New Testament church which stayed almost free from abominable practices until a Millennium later.

   Idolatry in the church
During the various Inquisitions (12th-18th century) the church was defiled mainly by idolatry. Bible believing Christians and clergies were killed by burning at the stack as witches. That was the darkest period in Christianity.
   The Renaissance period (13th century) witnessed a dramatic growth in Marian art in Europe. In this period, significant works of Marian art by masters such as Boticelli, Leonardo da Vinci and Raphael were produced. This was possibly the beginning of the worship of Mary and the saints. Wars were fought and won under the auspices of the Virgin Mary. The victory at Battle of Lepanto (1571) was accredited to her and signified the beginning of a strong resurgence of Marian devotions, focusing especially on Mary, the Queen of Heaven and Earth. These abominations led to the Protestant Reformation in the 16th century. Protestant reformers, in particular Andreas Karlstadt, Huldrych Zwingli and John Calvin, destroyed religious images in churches in northern Europe and England by invoking the Decalogue's prohibition of idolatry and the manufacture of graven images of God.
   The Pope instead of repentance, glorified Mary further. Alexander VII declared in 1661, that the soul of Mary was free from original sin. Pope Clement XI ordered the feast of the Immaculata for the whole Church in 1708. The feast of the Rosary was introduced in 1716, the feast of the Seven Sorrows in 1727.

   Mystery of the Harlot
Rev 17:2b,9,18 "And I saw a woman sitting on a scarlet beast which was full of names of blasphemy, having seven heads and ten horns...Here is the mind which has wisdom: The seven heads are seven mountains on which the woman sits....And the woman whom you saw is that great city which reigns over the kings of the earth."
   Vatican city is located in Rome, which sits on seven hills. Rome was the centre of Christianity after the destruction of Jerusalem. This glorious church of our Lord Jesus saw the conversion of the whole of Europe and many countries to Christianity. But the worship of Mary defiled the Catholic Church. The Pope then reigned over the Christian kings during the period of the Inquisition, when many churches were serving Satan (scarlet beast) with idolatry.
   Today, the Pope no longer controls the world, but US to a great extent has replaced Rome with its wealth and power. US (churches) was the champion of Christianity in the last century, but these few decades it had committed many abominations, which are sins leading to death :- blaspheming the Holy Spirit, reducing the bible to history or myths, sodomy, gay marriage,  heresies, etc. I believe US today, is the fulfillment of this Mysterious Harlot.